top of page

Historical Romance films are on their way........


Hello,

A very, very happy new year and here's wishing you all joy, happiness and prosperity.

The time is drawing closer and we begin, here and now. Yes, we can, the time in not too distant when we will be able to fulfil our wish of having an unlimited supply of historical romance movies to watch.

No one can deny that Historical romance books are the most popular genre in the world today but ...

I have often searched endlessly for films in this category, but apart from the classical works of Austen and Bronte, and a select few others, there is a glaring lack of films in this area.

Many memorable and timeless works have failed to make their presence to the screen.

I am sure that all of us, avid readers of romance novels, share a common love for historical romance. There is something special about travelling back into a time where we imagine that all that glittered was actually gold, a different, spectacular world altogether.

How often do we get carried away with our characters, relive those wicked yet proper 'good ole days' and dream of being at one of the grand balls, throw, perhaps, by the Duchess of Wonderbury, dressed and jewelled to the T.

Having read at least a few thousand books since my early teens in this genre of fiction, I have waited and waited, for years, always believing, as more and more writers emerged, with new ideas and different styles, that the day is not far and sooner or later films will be made.

Well, guess what? I am tired of waiting. I want to have an endless supply of HR films at hand to watch and if I want this possible in my lifetime then I have to take matters into my hands.

Soooo.. I have decided to make a film myself. My production company is called HR Studios. Yes, you guessed it right, Historical romance studio and I have begun work on a project. We are going to adapt my novel "the Princess and the Count" into a 2D animated film.

Animation! Please don't groan, don't get disheartened after your hearts soared. The graphics and images will be formatted keeping you out there in mind.

I am sure a lot of you are thinking we do not want the Disney like characters, however delightful they are, no, we want real people, real sets, real castles, the wondrous ball rooms, elegant carriages, we want to go back to that era.

I want to make that too, believe me, I do, and I am sure that with your help and support we will eventually get there, but for now, this is a start, a beginning, not just for me but the other thousands of writers, who have the same dream I have.

Using highly experienced animation artists, and sophisticated equipment, the film will be as near lifelike as can made within the budget.

I have my characters all penned out, a dashing hero, (who looks something like he stepped out of a Barbara Cartland book cover and a beautiful, spirited lady.

For those of you who are interested, the book is being sold at Amazon currently http://amzn.to/mcigpl It is my sincere hope to go on making movies in this genre, not just my work, but works from other authors, popular books of your choice and keep this dream going.

I am launching my project on Kickstarter in mid January and am looking for all the support I can get. The total cost of making this into a 40 minute long film is estimated at two hundred and fifty thousand US dollars.

Even if you cannot contribute to this cause, I understand, but please spread the word and drop me a message informing me of what you think of this idea. You have no idea how much you will help me by doing that, even if your suggestion is a 'forget it, it will never work,' I will appreciate your comments.

I am sure most of you out there have never heard of me, let alone my book. A little bit about myself, My name is Nasreen Somji and I live in Toronto, Canada. I have a degree in business, Hotel management and Events management and am also currently working on my second book No tears for love.

I am happily married, with three wonderful boys. I am awful with the digital gadgets and often depend on my children (much to their annoyance) for anything to do with electronics.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page